My First Stein and My Family Stein

Stein Hex A stein is used in Urglaawe rituals in a manner similar to that of the drinking horn in other Heathen or Asatru rituals. It can be raised in a toast in Sammel (similar to sumbel) or used to pour offerings to the gods.

Late in 2014, I was making plans to perform one full year of Urglaawe holiday rituals at home, for which I would need a stein. I found my first stein on eBay. It’s ceramic and has hex signs on one side, flanked by figures of a man and a woman, a delightful castle and forest relief, and a handle of sculpted intertwined branches. The stein is fairly small, about the size of my hand. This is something of an “all occasions” stein for me, although for travel I might want to find something a little hardier than ceramic. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve dropped my drinking horn before! (Fortunately horns are pretty resilient.)

For Christmas 2014, my father gifted me with a stein that was passed down in our Stein Knightfamily. I am the third generation of our family to own it, as it was given to him by his grandmother, or my great-grandmother. This depicts a knight slaying a dragon in front of a castle. I personally think it’s pretty badass! This stein is about three times taller than my personal stein. I’ll probably be a lot more selective about where and how I use this one, because I consider it a family heirloom. That carries a spiritual weight for me, so I want to use it with respect, but I also just don’t want to overly risk breaking something so special! I could see myself especially using this for rituals centered on honoring my ancestors.

If you are getting yourself a stein and want to bless it before use, here is a link to an Urglaawe stein blessing written by Robert Lusch. This is the blessing I used with mine.

And of course if you ever find that your stein is “broken” (empty of mead!), it helps to have good kin nearby to refill it!

Leave a Reply

